Differences of a professional translator
Thread poster: MatheusDiniz
Feb 13, 2012

Hello everyone.

Im a 19 y/o student from Brazil and I´m interested on becoming a translator. I have a very basic knowledge of english and an even more basic knowledge in italian. I have a question to make: What differs a professional translator from a person who's just fluent on a language? I mean, any person who is fluent on a language can do translations, so what makes a professional translator better then a regular speaker?

Sam Pinson
Sam Pinson  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:43
Member (2011)
Russian to English
One difference is excellent communication skills Feb 13, 2012

Being fluent in a language does not mean you have good communication skills. A professional translator must be fluent in the source and target language AND have excellent communication skills in both languages.

There are, of course, other differences.

Tina Vonhof (X)
Tina Vonhof (X)
Canada
Local time: 07:43
Dutch to English
+ ...
the above and... Feb 13, 2012

writing skills, creativity, accuracy, specialized knowledge. Many translators have not studied translation but have come to it in a round-about way, having specialized knowledge of particular subjects.

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 10:43
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
My simple definition Feb 13, 2012

A bilingual person is someone capable of expressing their own ideas in two different languages; while a translator is someone skilled to express someone else's ideas faithfully, accurately, and correctly in a language different from the one in which they were originally issued.

Nicole Schnell
Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:43
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam
Excellent. Feb 14, 2012

José Henrique Lamensdorf wrote: