Thread poster: zhuzhu930

zhuzhu930  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:25
Member (2012)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Jun 6, 2012

Hi, everyone, good to see you here at Proz.com. I'm a simplified Chinese translator. I have seen some outsourcers prefer to get translators from HK or TW for English into traditional Chinese translation jobs. I understand that for HK and TW translators, traditional Chinese is their native language. But I wonder what are the specific differences between simplified and traditional Chinese other than the specific writing style. We all know that by using MS word or other input software, we can easily change Simplified Chinese into Traditional Chinese, but is that enough for translation? is there a specific dialect style or special expression for some terms? or the entire syntax of traditional Chinese is totally different from that of simplified Chinese? Please help me, thanks!

[Edited at 2012-06-06 03:46 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Robert Tucker
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:25
German to English
+ ...
Mandarin /Cantonese Jun 6, 2012

Is not the main difference between Mandarin and Cantonese?

People who can understand only either Mandarin or Cantonese can communicate with each other by writing because they use the same written characters with a few exceptions.... But the colloquial Cantonese written down in words is sometimes hard to understand for Mandarin speaking people because Cantonese use lots of different expressions in their daily oral Cantonese.

http://khuang.com/chinese/dif.htm