Gaia Ballerini
Gaia Ballerini
Italy
Local time: 09:18
English to Italian
+ ...
Jul 30, 2012

Dear Translators,

My name is Gaia Ballerini and I am in my first year of PhD at SITLeC - Department of Interdisciplinary Studies of Translation, Languages and Cultures - at the University of Bologna.

The research project I am currently carrying out aims at achieving a harmonious synthesis between translation didactics and the needs of the professional world in order to optimize the specialized translator’s training, visibility and, as a consequence, their social role.
... See more
Dear Translators,

My name is Gaia Ballerini and I am in my first year of PhD at SITLeC - Department of Interdisciplinary Studies of Translation, Languages and Cultures - at the University of Bologna.

The research project I am currently carrying out aims at achieving a harmonious synthesis between translation didactics and the needs of the professional world in order to optimize the specialized translator’s training, visibility and, as a consequence, their social role.

The areas of interest concern:

a) possible practical applications of translation theory to the activity of a specialized translator;

b) the degree of interaction between translation technology courses, terminology courses and specialized translation courses as well as the impact of technology (CAT tools, softwares for building and exploring corpora) on translation teaching and on its empowerment;

c) the analysis of the fields of specialized translation which have already proved solid and profitable for academic research and the professional world as well as those which could turn out to be significative in the future;

d) didactic offer adjustments according to the surveyed fields and the context of professional integration;

e) the evaluation of didactics and students assessment.

In order to empirically validate this research, I have developed a questionnaire which intends to investigate the fields presented above.