Doubt on the estimated time and price of a translation
Thread poster: Rodrigo Araújo e Castro

Rodrigo Araújo e Castro  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 08:26
Portuguese to English
+ ...
May 2, 2013

Hello, I'm a freelancer translator, I have recently completed my graduation in English, with an emphasis in translation by UFMG. However, I don't have a lot of experience in it. Recently, I have been asked about the estimate time and the price of a Brazilian Portuguese / English translation of 250 texts of 1000 characters each.

Can anybody advise me in this matter?

Thanks in advance,
Rodrigo

[Edited at 2013-05-02 23:56 GMT]

[Edited at 2013-05-03 00:01 GMT]

[Edited at 2013-05-03 00:02 GMT]

Thomas Rebotier  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:26
English to French
Look at the files first... May 3, 2013

(1) You are asked to translate INTO English which is not your native language. Reputable agencies will usually not do this. Take a serious look at the files themselves to see if you are really able to do it. Remember your English will no longer be assessed against school standards, but against the standard set by native speakers who write well. If you feel you cannot do the job well, be honest with the agency and tell them you would rather work the other way around. Maybe you are starving and cannot afford to refuse anything, but you will soon realize that your productivity going against the grain is a lot lower...
(2) If you wholeheartedly think you can do it then go ahead. Translation time is very, very personal. It depends on typing skill a bit and on thinking skill a lot more. Typically translators can do from 1500 to 5,000 words per day. Those at 5,000 are exceptional, or they cut corners. Play it safe and ask for 10 business days. That's 25 files per business day so about 2500 words, but you have 4 days of weekends to catch up if you find yourself too slow.

best of luck!

Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 13:26
English to Polish