Thread poster: Carmen Grabs

Carmen Grabs
Germany
Local time: 19:57
Member (2012)
English to German
+ ...
Aug 21, 2013

I am doing a transcription (without translation) of some videos and the client has asked me to do timecoded files in word or excel.

Could anyone please let me know how this works? I have never done the timecoded files before.

Thanks a lot!
Carmen

Pauline Riccarand  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 18:57
English to French
+ ...
Do you see the time code in your videos? Aug 21, 2013

If you are using VLC or any other video player, you should see the time code somewhere in the format 00:00:00,000. (hour:minute:second, millisecond).
You just need to stop the video when a character starts speaking, report the time code on your translation indicated by your player then do the same when he stops.

For example : 00:00:00,000--> 00:00:02,075
CHARACTER A
My name is John ect ect

Character A speaks for 2 seconds and 75 milliseconds.

If your player doesn't display codes, I suggest you simply indicate minutes and seconds using the same technique.

I hope it is clear...

Good luck !

Srini Venkataraman
United States
Local time: 12:57
Member (2012)
Tamil to English
+ ...
2 ways Aug 21, 2013

The audio is to be transcribed, and you can do it 2 ways.
Method 1
Play the audio in windows media player and for every dialogue, check the time code on the media player and put that in the first column in xl sheet. 2nd col is for the dialogue.
Method 2:
Download express scribe pro ( free). Then play the clipping in the software. You can see the video too. Start transcribing as earlier. Because you can see the persons, the sample format is
00:01:02 Male1: I cannot come to your house
00:01:06 Female: But you should try
00:01:09 Male2: If he is not coming, let us go.....

I have done subtitling for 6 movies and numerous monolingual transcriptions, plus some times translations too.

Carmen Grabs
Germany
Member (2012)
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER