badr-L
Morocco
Local time: 11:38
Member (2011)
English to French
+ ...
Aug 22, 2013

Dear translators,

I have been asked today to deliver a certificate of accuracy about a proofreading I made on last March.

I am a bit confused because I never had to give such certification.

Although, I am a professional translator and expert on the subject (financial translation) I am not a sworn or certified translator.

My first thought is to refuse to sign such certificate, what do you think?

Please could you help me solve this s
... See more
Dear translators,

I have been asked today to deliver a certificate of accuracy about a proofreading I made on last March.

I am a bit confused because I never had to give such certification.

Although, I am a professional translator and expert on the subject (financial translation) I am not a sworn or certified translator.

My first thought is to refuse to sign such certificate, what do you think?

Please could you help me solve this situation and give me your feedback and experience related to similar situations.

Also, if I have to sign which sentences I have to add to protect my liability.

Thanks a lot in advance.
Collapse

David Wright
David Wright  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 12:38
German to English
+ ...
Curious Aug 22, 2013

I wonder whether such a certificate would be worth the paper it was written on. After all, you say you're not a certified translator.

What difference should the certificate make to any liability or guarantee, since if you did the work badly in the first place they'd have a claim against you, and the certificate wouldn't make this better or worse.

I'd ask them why they need it, and if the reason sounds good, I'd probably give it, but perhaps beginning with the words "T
... See more
I wonder whether such a certificate would be worth the paper it was written on. After all, you say you're not a certified translator.