Japanese to English Equity research translation
Thread poster: LouRou

LouRou  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:14
Japanese to English
Sep 10, 2013

Hi,

I am a Japanese to English translator with few years experience under my belt.

Mostly, I've translated market research materials, general business documents etc, but I am keen to improve my financial translation skills, particularly in equity research report translation.

I recently worked at a Japanese bank where I translated financial documents, and with enough time and guidance from my manager who filled me in on the occasional technical terminology, I seem to have done well.

However, when I've applied in the past for J>E equity translation positions, the roles that have come up here in the UK seem to be for very experienced equity research translators, and I've struggled being asked to take a timed test without access to online resources to look up financial vocabulary. It seems they want people who are very highly familiar with that kind of translation and could translate very quickly.

So my question is, if I wanted to improve my knowledge and skills in this area of translation, what can I do?

I've thought of trying to get work from various agencies that handle J>E financial translations, and get used to translating materials in my own time at home with full resources, build up my vocabulary, knowledge on the subject, and hopefully speed.

However, I have noticed that most J>E equity research translators seem to have started off their careers working for banks in Japan translating less technical content or as junior financial translators, before moving on to more technical stuff.

I am wondering if actual on-the-job experience is necessary to build up my knowledge in technical financial translation.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Direct link Reply with quote

Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 00:14
Chinese to English
Don't know about Japanese, but... Sep 11, 2013