Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How do you deal with the tricky relation between deadlines and quality in translations?
Thread poster: Rogerio de Moraes

Rogerio de Moraes  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 01:16
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Feb 9, 2014

Hy Everyone!

My name's Rogério and I'm a translator (EN-PT BR) and a proofreader. I would like to talk about something that has annoyed me - the tricky relation between deadlines and quality in translations

On the on hand we (translators) know that we must deliver a quality translation (for that I mean linguistic variables taken into account – semantics, pragmatics, syntax, cultural aspects and last but not least the context in which the text is inserted in).

On the other hand some agencies set too short deadlines, but even so they demand high-level translations. Whereas some named "easy" jobs can be really time-consuming; jobs that require lots of further research (sometimes much more than a regular research that all of us should do) on specific topics set as "Standard" instead of "Pro".

Agencies know (and I think everybody should know it as well) they cannot expect the highest quality for the lowest price in a translation within the time limit when the time limit is set for "yesterday" (I mean "unreasonable deadlines").

It's a little "methapohrical", I know it, but did I make myself understood?

Hope to hear from you.

Regards!
Rogério

Katalin Horváth McClure  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:16
Member (2002)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
How do I deal with it? Feb 9, 2014

High quality, fast and cheap - those are 3 requirements. You can have two, but not all three. I discuss the details of the job with the client, ask to see the actual materials or at least a representative sample, then negotiate the terms. If their requests are unreasonable than I refuse the job.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:16
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
My approach Feb 9, 2014