https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_theory_and_practice/282235-copy_text_as_is_or_weed_out_and_in_source_language.html

Copy text as is or weed out / and () in source language
Thread poster: cbcoti
cbcoti
cbcoti
Local time: 23:44
English to Danish
Feb 23, 2015

Hi All,

As a technical writer I do not do translation work myself, but I must always have translation in mind when writing. I have come across a case of choosing the lesser evil and would like your opinion.

If I copy bits of text from one manual to another, would you prefer that I stick to the original as much as I can to keep consistency, or would you prefer that I weed out brackets and slashes in the newer manual?

Thanks.

B D Finch
B D Finch  Identity Verified
France
French to English
+ ...
Nice question Feb 24, 2015

How nice to have a technical writer thinking about us poor translators!

In response to your question, it really depends what the slashes and brackets are there for. If they serve a purpose, leave them in. If they are redundant, remove them.

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Where the slashes are ambiguous, remove them Feb 24, 2015

Thanks from me too for a helpful question!

I would say leave the brackets - they usually serve a useful purpose.

However, I would suggest that where there is any chance of slashes being ambiguous, please remove them!

Slashes tend to be used more in Danish than in English, and probably other languages. Usually it is clear what they are short for, but not always.

If used as in m/k, søn/datter (as in man/woman, son/daughter) and so on, then it is
... See more
Thanks from me too for a helpful question!

I would say leave the brackets - they usually serve a useful purpose.

However, I would suggest that where there is any chance of slashes being ambiguous, please remove them!