Need advice on inner speech translation into English
Thread poster: Lotto
Lotto
Russian Federation
Local time: 09:00
Aug 9, 2015

I'm a writer (my native language is Russian). I'm working with a pro to translate my fiction book to English. We have stuck at translation of text that can be approximately described as "narrative inner speech". In the original text, it looks like the character tells about him/herself in third person. It works fine in Russian. However, it seems that native English speakers don't understand who is speaking when the text is translated literally.

Here is a short excerpt from the literal translation (performed by me, not by the translator):

--
Imponderable case with the memory card weighted heavily the suit inside pocket. The collar lay heavily on the neck with its weight like a rope-tied stone pulling a self-murderer underwater. Bikata shivered. That’s it. If he doesn’t abandon his plan right now, there will be no coming back. At best, he’ll be fired with a big scandal. At worst, he’ll be sentenced to compensate for impossible damages to property and will possibly be accused of industrial espionage and criminally indicted. He squinted his eyes. Kalaya was sitting next to him with her safety belt fastened. Noticing his gaze, she smiled trustfully.
--

The best solution we have come up with is replacing third person with first person in such narration and mark it with italic. Here comes the modified excerpt:

--