Teresa Woischiski
Teresa Woischiski  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 08:52
English to German
+ ...
May 15, 2018

Dear Proz community,

I am a freelance translator and would like to get more knowledge about the methods of translation, to improve my style (En>De). Does anyone know a good book for this language pair or an online course which is a good way to improve one's translation skills?

There is the online course programme from AKAD Kolleg Stuttgart, so I am thinking about that one. But it would be nice to have the focus on Marketing translations.

Also, if anyone f
... See more
Dear Proz community,

I am a freelance translator and would like to get more knowledge about the methods of translation, to improve my style (En>De). Does anyone know a good book for this language pair or an online course which is a good way to improve one's translation skills?

There is the online course programme from AKAD Kolleg Stuttgart, so I am thinking about that one. But it would be nice to have the focus on Marketing translations.

Also, if anyone from the community is willing to do some online tutoring with me (paid of course), let me know.
I basically need good feedback on my marketing translations and a method how to improve my style to make it sound more "marketing"-like.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Teresa
Collapse

Nina Esser
Nina Esser
Germany
English to German
Book & workshop May 15, 2018

Hi Teresa,

It's not a book on marketing translation as such, but I found Wolf Friedrich's "Technik des Übersetzens" extremely helpful in producing more idiomatic translations. I also attended three BDÜ workshops ("Typisch Englisch - typisch Deutsch"), which were basically built on his insights. They're not available as an online version, as far as I'm aware, but the trips were definitely worth it for me! I still look at the handouts from those workshops whenever I need some inspir
... See more
Hi Teresa,