Thread poster: Lars Jelking

Lars Jelking  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 10:43
Member (2006)
English to Swedish
+ ...
Dec 29, 2005

During the years as translator a lot of text has gone into the computer. There is first all the correspondence with the outsourcers. Then come the source-files. And to top it up the target-files, invoices, reminders etc. I have been doing this now for 6+ years and accumulated more than 40 GB.

What's your opinion on how long to retain the materiel? Or must I invest in another hard-drive?

Season Greetings to you all.

Direct link Reply with quote

Sol  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:43
Spanish to English
+ ...
keep the backups Dec 29, 2005

Lars Jelking wrote:
I have been doing this now for 6+ years and accumulated more than 40 GB.

I hope you keep it somewhere else too, in case your computer crashes. I used to keep mine in floppies, then changed to a zip drive, and now that my computer burns cds, I save all my jobs to them. I keep a disk for each of my major clients an one for all the small miscellaneous jobs.

Maria Diaconu  Identity Verified
Romania
English to Romanian
DVD Dec 29, 2005

I would suggest that you keep it on DVDs. This is what I do. All the documents I have collected during one year of work fill up 1 DVD (4.7 gigabytes storage capacity).
HTH

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Don't keep them all on the harddisk Dec 29, 2005

It's nice to have them all at hand with Google search etc. but every time your software scans for viruses it has to go through all that stuff. I noticed I need rather seldom work from two years ago. And they are on shelf for the case I need them once in a while.
(After all they remain in your TMs!)
regards
Heinrich

Uldis Liepkalns  Identity Verified
Latvia
Member (2003)
English to Latvian
+ ...
I use two external hard disks Dec 29, 2005