Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
translation technique
Thread poster: raingrass
raingrass
Local time: 17:23
Bulgarian to English
Aug 7, 2006

Hello! I am not a tranlsation professional and I will ask you to excuse me if my question sounds silly to you, but I need advice exactly from professional translators.

So my question is: what do you think of the following technique?

Instead of translating sentence by sentence I translate only the words first, in the order they are in the original sentence without taking any effort to do the grammar or even put them in the word order which is correct for the target language. Once I translate all the words in the whole text I take a break. Next I begin putting those words in the correct grammar and correct word order. This separation of processes helps me strain my mind less, concentrate better and do the whole thing with greater quality.

Direct link Reply with quote

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:23
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not much, but... Aug 7, 2006

I work the English-Spanish pair (both ways). I would never think of doing that, especially since the syntax is so different between the two languages; plus what we translate are ideas, not words.

I do a certain amount of "search and replace" when translating which helps a little, but so many times the words replaced are in the wrong spot so the gain is only modest.

I cannot comprehend how you could possibly be able to understand the results from your process.

Try translating without using this process of yours and see what results you get, then compare; that's all I can say.

bohy  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 16:23
English to French
+ ...
a computer can do that Aug 7, 2006

This is roughly what automatic translation does... and we know the result;-)

xxxmediamatrix
Local time: 11:23
Spanish to English
+ ...
We've seen this technique in action ... Aug 7, 2006

drabsv wrote: