Common practice?
Thread poster: Nina Spencer

Nina Spencer  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:43
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Aug 9, 2006

I am a fairly new translator who would like to know when you return a translation, do you make the client aware of choices or ambiguities?

The translation I am doing could be literally translated or have English terms left in.

Very grateful for your responses - great site!

Nina

Direct link Reply with quote

Vito Smolej
Germany
Local time: 10:43
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
several approaches possible Aug 9, 2006

do you make the client aware of choices or ambiguities?

i) it never hurt to ask. Note however, that the shorter the list, the greater a chance you get an answer. Plus you have to ask before you start with the work and given long turnaround times and short delivery deadlines, this may work in only half of the cases.

ii) make a sound decision and explain it: example (what I am doing right now). The source document is badly formatted (tabs, hard breaks). I'll correct it ("last time without extra charge" g) and explain to the agent, why I did it.

And, to stick to my own suggestion, Im making the list short ;P.

smo

ICL  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Always best to ask, but... Aug 9, 2006

Hi Nina,

In general, like Vito has explained, it is best to ask or comment any doubts, and the shorter the better.

But in my opinion you should always ask, especially because if there are any post-delivery issues about the translation that really required the OK of the customer, it is best that you asked or commented it before delivering.

But you will learn with time how to best send these questions, depending on the "style" of the company. Some companies can be very helpful about these questions, some are not so interested in this, so you will have to apply your common sense with each separate case.

Good luck,

Ivette

Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...