Thread poster: Andrea Riffo
Andrea Riffo
Andrea Riffo  Identity Verified
Chile
Local time: 18:10
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 22, 2006

I have been wondering about this ever since I worked as a team member on a big project some time ago. There was a query log making rounds among the team and it was sent back to the client a reasonable time before deadline in order to clear doubts that we were unable to solve.

Afterwards, the story has repeated itself, but only through agencies and not direct clients, so I was left wondering, how frequent is this practise among translators-direct clients?

Personally, I d
... See more
I have been wondering about this ever since I worked as a team member on a big project some time ago. There was a query log making rounds among the team and it was sent back to the client a reasonable time before deadline in order to clear doubts that we were unable to solve.

Afterwards, the story has repeated itself, but only through agencies and not direct clients, so I was left wondering, how frequent is this practise among translators-direct clients?

Personally, I do this with one (regular) direct client with whom I have established a trusting relationship, so they know that if I'm asking it is because the term/phrase is in itself really specific or simply unreadable in English. Also, I make sure to send it no later than when I still have 1/2 of the time before deadline (e.g., if I have 7 days, I send it no later than the 3rd day)

What are the pros and cons of doing this? Do you consider professional/unprofessional to do so? How do you suggest this system to a new client without coming off as unfit to take the assignment?

Oops lots of questions there! I couldn't help myself.

Greetings all, and thanks

Andrea

[Edited at 2006-11-22 04:07]
Collapse

Claudia Krysztofiak
Claudia Krysztofiak  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 00:10
English to German
+ ...
Reasonable questions are a proof of expertise Nov 22, 2006