Translation Job
Thread poster: AleksandraGr
AleksandraGr
Local time: 13:42
English
Jan 14, 2007

I am a student and I will need to decide soon which form of translations I will be doing.Can you help me and write some tips about your job.What is better?- to translate live or on piece of paper?Which of this form is more interesting and better paid?

Direct link Reply with quote

Stefanie Sendelbach  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
More information Jan 14, 2007

Hi Aleksandra,

Welcome to Proz.com

Before we are able to answer your questions, we might need to know a little more about yourself and about the questions you are asking. What are you studying? And what do you mean with "live translation"? Do you mean interpreting?

Interpreting is not identical with translation, and you need different talents for either profession. Here is some more information about interpreting and the differences between translating and interpreting: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interpreting

I hope this helps. If you tell us a little more about yourself and about what you expect from your dream profession, I am sure many colleagues here will be able to give you useful tips.

Best regards,
Stefanie

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:42
English to Spanish
+ ...
What kind? Jan 14, 2007

By ...to translate live or on piece of paper?

...do you mean interpreting or translating?

I, for instance, do both, and they can both be well-paid and interesting.

No one can tell you, it depends on your own inclinations and personality, and how sucessful you will be will depend on many factors I certainly do not know.

As an interpreter you have a lot of contact with people; as a translator you are generally very isolated from other people. That might give you a clue as to which one may better suit your own inclinations.

keshab  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:12
Member (2006)
English to Hindi
+ ...
Watch, Work and Win Jan 14, 2007