https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_theory_and_practice/66536-translation_of_names_of_laws_etc.html

Translation of names of laws, etc.
Thread poster: Buck
Buck
Buck
Netherlands
Local time: 11:00
Dutch to English
Feb 20, 2007

Hi. In addition to my fulltime job as a translator, I recently started freelancing. At work, we would translate something like, say Rijksoctrooiwet 1995 as Rijksoctrooiwet 1995 (1995 Dutch Patent Act). Do any of you do it differently?

Mónica Algazi
Mónica Algazi  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 06:00
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
SAME HERE Feb 20, 2007

Hello Buck,

We also write the original name of the law in italics and the Spanish translation in brackets. Hope it helps!

Rafa Lombardino
Rafa Lombardino
United States
Local time: 02:00
Member (2005)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Footnotes, most of the time Feb 20, 2007

When I'm working with contracts or similar documents, what I do is research reputable sources to see if a translation already exists or simply adapt the name of a law or foreign organization and add a footnote. As an example, on a PT>EN translation, it would be something like:

... the Brazilian Institute of Environment and Renewable Natural Resources (IBAMA) ¹ ...

[...]

1. Translator's Note: From the original Instituto Brasileiro do Meio Ambie
... See more
When I'm working with contracts or similar documents, what I do is research reputable sources to see if a translation already exists or simply adapt the name of a law or foreign organization and add a footnote. As an example, on a PT>EN translation, it would be something like:

... the Brazilian Institute of Environment and Renewable Natural Resources (IBAMA) ¹ ...

[...]

1. Translator's Note: From the original Instituto Brasileiro do Meio Ambiente e dos Recursos Naturais Renováveis.