Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
To become a translator or not? (Also: learning Japanese vs French)
Thread poster: Wify
Wify
Wify
English
Sep 8, 2007

OK. Its almost uni time for me! I'm trying to pick my course of action that will determine just what jobs I can pick up, hence how my life will play out.

I'm looking into freelance translation. My goal would be at least $35,000 USD per year. HOWEVER. I would only want to work part-time to achieve this- perhaps 20 hours per week?

How achievable is this? Is this hard to do? I would be a complete beginner, and I would take a 4-year bachelors degree in the language, then
... See more
OK. Its almost uni time for me! I'm trying to pick my course of action that will determine just what jobs I can pick up, hence how my life will play out.

I'm looking into freelance translation. My goal would be at least $35,000 USD per year. HOWEVER. I would only want to work part-time to achieve this- perhaps 20 hours per week?

How achievable is this? Is this hard to do? I would be a complete beginner, and I would take a 4-year bachelors degree in the language, then go on and get a masters in translations studies, then perhaps get a post-graduate certificate in interpretation (that would be 6 months study)

I am also looking into which language is best suited for me. Japanese or French are the main contenders.

French for a native English speaker is certainly easier than Japanese from what I've read, and learning it would give me a leg-up in Europe. I would be able to learn other Romance languages that while I wouldn't use to translate from, would mean I could live in Europe. There are also many French speakers in the world.