Thread poster: MariusV
MariusV
MariusV  Identity Verified
Lithuania
Local time: 10:25
English to Lithuanian
+ ...
Sep 17, 2007

I have a question (maybe a rather straightforward one): I have been using Trados for a couple of years for my work and, more or less, I am quite satisfied with it (cannot say that I am fully satisfied). I heard the bell ringing that the new CAT tool MemoQ is a very good one and has many more advantages than Trados (incl. its price, and the thing that no one will ever get to know if you did the text using Trados or MemoQ as they are compatible).

I have been thinking to purchase Memo
... See more
I have a question (maybe a rather straightforward one): I have been using Trados for a couple of years for my work and, more or less, I am quite satisfied with it (cannot say that I am fully satisfied). I heard the bell ringing that the new CAT tool MemoQ is a very good one and has many more advantages than Trados (incl. its price, and the thing that no one will ever get to know if you did the text using Trados or MemoQ as they are compatible).

I have been thinking to purchase MemoQ, but is there any sense to have two CAT tools ? In other words, is MemoQ so good to have and spend money for when one already has Trados?

Could anyone share some ideas and experience?
Collapse

heikeb
heikeb  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 08:25
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
recent discussion Sep 18, 2007

I have tested MemoQ only for a couple of hours and found it lacking regarding the main translation functionalities. I described some of my impressions in this discussion just the other day:

http://www.proz.com/topic/83896

One of the main developers of MemoQ provided some feedback as well.

But I would also be interested in other people's experience.

<
... See more