definitions
definitions
United Arab Emirates
Local time: 03:49
English
+ ...
Sep 20, 2007

Hello,
I hope I've posted this in the right place. The issue is: I may be assigned to proofread/translate a website, but I've never done this before, so I would like advice on how this is usually done. In the past, I've translated only *parts* of a website, but these were sent to me as Word texts & I always delivered them as Word files so there was never a problem. I do not own CAT tools-- are any necessary for (whole) website translations?
All advice/suggestions much appreciated, th
... See more
Hello,
I hope I've posted this in the right place. The issue is: I may be assigned to proofread/translate a website, but I've never done this before, so I would like advice on how this is usually done. In the past, I've translated only *parts* of a website, but these were sent to me as Word texts & I always delivered them as Word files so there was never a problem. I do not own CAT tools-- are any necessary for (whole) website translations?
All advice/suggestions much appreciated, thanks!
Collapse

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:49
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
What's the Problem? Sep 20, 2007

Find out how they are going to send you the text. I assume you are worried about technical problems, because the translation part would be like any other job.

After consulting the client your worries may vanish, or if you foresee a technical problem just have the client send you the text in a format you know how to deal with.

definitions
definitions
United Arab Emirates
English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
What I would like to know is... Sep 20, 2007

.... the various ways this can be done. I mean, doing it in Word is the only way I know/have experience with, but I was wondering if anyone else does it some other way & what would be the pros & cons of that method.