Thread poster: Rafaela Lemos

Rafaela Lemos  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 23:02
Italian to Portuguese
+ ...
Dec 13, 2007

Hello dear all,

I would like to ask all of you how you manage and organize your translation projects.

Is there any informatic program that you can put all the information you need about the translation projects you have to perform?

Because after some months working intensively as a translator, I find myself in a big big workflow: I have one book of 100 pages related to Law (Italian > Portuguese); 1 big project about glass materials of 44000 words (Italian > Portuguese); 1 literary book of 60000 words that is going to be published in Portugal (English > Portuguese). Everything with closed deadlines - January and February.

I was wondering if there is a magical way of organizing myself by using the computer - maybe by writing down my daily turnaround (eg. 3500 words), the magical program will say: you have 8 days to complete the task.

I might seem crazy, but such thing could be useful!

Please tell me your ideas and opinions and how you organize yourselves.

Thank you so much.

Best regards,

Rafaela Lemos

Direct link Reply with quote

José Miguel Braña Montaña  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 22:02
Member (2007)
French to Spanish
+ ...
Article "How to organize a translation office - with Translation Office 3000" Dec 13, 2007

Hi Rafaela,

A couple of days ago I've read this article by Viktoria Gimbe.

Having not use TO3000 myself I cannot recommend it and I am not sure it will suit your needs, but hope it helps.

Best regards,

Miguel

patyjs  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 16:02
Spanish to English
+ ...
I just wanted Dec 13, 2007

to congratulate you on your workload. Way to go!

Paty

Claudia Alvis  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 16:02
Spanish
+ ...
TO3000 Dec 13, 2007

José Miguel Braña Montaña wrote:

Hi Rafaela,

A couple of days ago I've read this article by Viktoria Gimbe.