Court certification in the Netherlands
Thread poster: Hannah Johnson
Hannah Johnson
Hannah Johnson  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 18:22
Italian to English
Jun 9, 2008

I am an Italian to English legal translator living in Amsterdam and I have recently been approached by clients asking if I am a court certified translator (to carry out sworn legal translations). When I lived in Italy I used to have translations legalized and the procedure was very straightforward. Here, I am not sure if I can offer this service because I am not translating into Dutch and I am not even fluent in Dutch, and I believe it is necessary to have in-depth knowledge of the Dutch languag... See more
I am an Italian to English legal translator living in Amsterdam and I have recently been approached by clients asking if I am a court certified translator (to carry out sworn legal translations). When I lived in Italy I used to have translations legalized and the procedure was very straightforward. Here, I am not sure if I can offer this service because I am not translating into Dutch and I am not even fluent in Dutch, and I believe it is necessary to have in-depth knowledge of the Dutch language to be certified.

Does anyone know if it is possible for a translator who is neither Dutch nor a Dutch speaker to be certified with a Dutch court and if so how to go about this?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Hannah Johnson
Collapse

Percy Balemans (X)
Percy Balemans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Knowledge of Dutch is a requirement Jun 9, 2008

According to the government website Overheid.nl (this particular article is available in Dutch only) you can only be certified if you have "sufficient knowledge" of the Dutch language. It doesn't say what they mean by "sufficient knowledge", except that this is to be "assessed by the court".

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:22
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Clients' idea Jun 10, 2008