Engineering Translation software
Thread poster: mechatronics

mechatronics
Local time: 01:05
Nov 8, 2009

Hi everybody! I am a university student and I badly need to translate a textbook written in French into English. The textbook is about Photovoltaic pumping and is a manual dedicated to Engineers. It consists mainly of Mechanical and electrical/electronic terms. I need a good translation of the technical terms. Could you tell me how to do that please?

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 23:05
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Hi Nov 9, 2009

I am afraid, that no software will do this for you. Are you going to do the translation yourself? If no, then it would be better to post a paid job (Jobs > Post a job).
And if you will be doing this yourself, you will certainly need good dictionaries first of all. What about the software - some CAT tools (i.e. the tools for computer-aided translation - NOT machine translation) would be certainly useful.

Natalia

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 23:05
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
How certain... Nov 9, 2009

mechatronics wrote:
I am a university student and I badly need to translate a textbook written in French into English. The textbook is about Photovoltaic pumping and is a manual dedicated to Engineers. It consists mainly of Mechanical and electrical/electronic terms. I need a good translation of the technical terms.

How certain are you that most of the technical terms will not be in a general FR-EN dictionary, or at least in a general technical FR-EN dictionary?

Mohamed Mehenoun  Identity Verified
Algeria
Local time: 22:05
Member (2008)
English to French
+ ...
routledge Nov 9, 2009

Hello,

Routledge is a fairly decent EN-FR technical dictionnary.

MoH

mechatronics
Local time: 01:05
TOPIC STARTER
Engineering Translation software Nov 10, 2009