Is there any software to play mp4 sound files in slow speed for transcription purpose?
Thread poster: chopra_2002

chopra_2002  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 04:34
Member (2008)
English to Hindi
+ ...
Apr 2, 2010

Hi friends,

I am basically a translator but one of my main translation agencies has entrusted some sort of a new job to me. I am required to listen to a mp4 file and write down the dialogues and then translate them. When I play the file, it becomes difficult for me to note down the dialogues because of speed. I want to know if there exists a free software in which we can play the mp4 sound files in slow speed as it will be convenient to note down dialogues in that case?

Regards,

Chopra

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 02:04
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Probably Apr 2, 2010

Search for a sound editor application. They work like a taperecorder and probably allow to listen at different speeds. Google will show results.
Regards
Heinrich

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/about/

patyjs  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 18:04
Spanish to English
+ ...
Try Express Scribe... Apr 2, 2010

you can download it for free and it has speed variation and other cool stuff. It works well for me and I do quite a lot of transcription/translation.

Good luck.

Florence_G (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:04
English to French
+ ...
VLC Apr 3, 2010

I use VLC.

You can increase and decrease the speed as much as you want.

^^

Edit: I tried Express Scribe but you can't use .mp4 files.

[Edited at 2010-04-03 09:52 GMT]

William [Bill] Gray  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 01:04
Member (2006)
English
+ ...
Use a foot pedal too... Apr 3, 2010

patyjs wrote:

Try Express Scribe...
you can download it for free and it has speed variation and other cool stuff. It works well for me and I do quite a lot of transcription/translation.

Good luck.