dictionary translation reordering of entries
Thread poster: Stephen H Gill

Stephen H Gill
Japan
Local time: 01:04
Japanese to English
Apr 16, 2010

I am translating a Japanese science dictionary of 800 pages into English. How do I reorder the entries into English alphabetical order as one large manuscript on my computer, I wonder? Perhaps someone out there has a technique or knows software that would help? Thank you for any advice you can give.

Carla Davidson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2009)
Spanish to English
+ ...
'Sort' button in Word Apr 16, 2010

Hi Stephen,

I have the latest version of Word on my computer and I think that you can use the 'sort' button to alphabetise your text.

On my version of Word, it is in the 'Home' tab under the 'paragraph' section.

I've never used it before but I think it should work. Good luck!

foreevermore  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:04
Russian to English
+ ...
What format do you have your translations in? Apr 17, 2010

I know that if you have them in Excel (or as a table in Word, for that matter), you can go to (in Excel) >DATA (very top toolbar)>Sort...>Choose the columns that you want sorted in alphabetical order, and then any other columns you wanted it sorted by if two entries are the same (say, if you wanted A(1) [adj] to come before A(2) [noun], etc.

If you're working with any type of Desktop Publishing Software, there is also usually an automatic index-creator, once you've finished with the entire document, that will view pages and all. So, if the original dictionary had entries that were grouped into subcategories of the topic (let's say, if it's general sciences, there were separate chapters for "anatomy terms" "botany terms," etc.), and there are long descriptions of the terms for each (in addition to "term" translation itself), adding an alphabetical English index in the final publishing file might be an option.

Stephen H Gill
Japan
Japanese to English
TOPIC STARTER