How do I get started with a CAT tool?
Thread poster: ElliCom

ElliCom  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:29
Member (2009)
German to English
+ ...
Jun 8, 2010

I've been translating and interpreting for many years, but only decided to do this full time professionally in the past year. I know that having software is a big plus for getting translator assignments. I have been reading and researching CAT tools, and most of the professionals I speak to have advised me against starting with TRADOS, the apparent industry standard. It's also way too expensive for me at this point (value vs. results).

One of the agencies I work with recommended SDLX or SDLX Lite. I almost downloaded Wordfast, but even the download instructions seemed intimidating. I've recently heard of Metatexis, MemoQ, Across and OmegaT (got great reviews and is free). I'd like to test the software, but can't possibly do that on an actual job.

I'm usually pretty intuitive in learning new software, but I simply don't know how or where to start.

Can anyone help?

Direct link Reply with quote

tfaulkner  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:29
Member (2010)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
I had been asking myself the same question Jun 8, 2010

Hi Elli,

I had been asking myself the same question when I came across the following topic, http://www.proz.com/forum/translator_resources/172399-cat_tools_:_are_they_really_worth_the_investment.html#1518916, with valuable advise from a fellow translator, Attila:

"For most CAT tools, you have either

- a free trial period: 30 days for Deja Vu, 30 days for Trados 2009 Studio, 45 days for MemoQ, 60 days for MetaTexis;
- a free trial software with limited functionality, like for Wordfast.
In the latter case, the limits still allow you to comfortably use all the features of the program with 10-page document – so you can really check whether you like the program.