Thread poster: Richard Hill

Richard Hill  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 16:07
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
Jul 8, 2011

Hi fellow translators,
I thought I’d post this link to an article I came across as it interested me given my skepticism regarding the use of CAT tools. http://www.translatortips.net/tranfreearchive/tf29-translation-memory.html
I am new to CAT tools and I really can’t get my head around using them. I’ve had a look at Wordfast, Trados and Translation Workspace and will be looking into MetaTexis as it’s apparently good for working in the Microsoft Word environment. I really can’t see how using CAT tools saves time and increases productivity, hence the topic “Is Translation Memory Losing You Money?”. I realize that the fact I don’t see the benefits must come from my inexperience with CAT tools, and like any program, there’s a learning curve before I can make efficient use of the software. But, in my ignorance, I still feel that its akin to believing that It’s quicker to edit a machine translation than to start from scratch, which, of course, it’s not. Is it not quicker to look up terms one isn’t sure about, then use find and replace rather than working on each segment and copying tags etc? Is it not true that the main reason translators are spending so much time and money on CAT tool usage is because of pressure from clients, and that the pressure from clients stems from the fact they they are the ones who benefit, not the translator? Anyway, like I say, I’m new to CAT tools, but I've watched all sorts of instructional videos and webinars, and they all just frustrate the hell out of me, as I just don’t get it. So I’d really appreciate any feedback to convince me (or not) that they are worthwhile. One other question, is which CAT tool is best for working within the Microsoft Word environment? All comments and advise are much appreciated.
Rich

[Edited at 2011-07-08 18:44 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Nesrin  Identity Verified