basic softwares for beginners in translation
Thread poster: Djidji74

Djidji74
Local time: 22:40
Arabic to English
+ ...
Dec 20, 2006

Hi everybody,
I am still a second year student in Applied Translation here in London. however I am very enthusiastic to learn and gain experience in translation mainly via proz before I graduate. Also , as I am starting my placement in an a translation agency in May 2007, I would like to learn other computer skills in order to work comfortably during my probationary period. So far, I use powerpoint, excell, word, ( all windows ms office) and Mac.
But I see on Proz ads that I am missing a lot and I haven't yet used most of the softwares translators use.
Would any one of you advise me with which of the following softwares to start earning: wordfast, Trados, dreamwaer, adobe acrobat, dejavu, ...etc.

This would really help me to have clear ideas.
Please help.
Djidji

Direct link Reply with quote

William [Bill] Gray  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 23:40
Member (2006)
English
+ ...
Hallo Djidji74... Dec 20, 2006

Hi!

You have made a good start by linking up with ProZ.com. I find it really enjoyable, inspiring and even sometimes demanding, being a part of this world wide community. I have learned much, have been able to contribute to solutions for fellow-translators, and have increased my opportunities for work, through the lists here.

I see you have already answered (and gained points for) a question in one of your language pairs. This shows potential clients/employers that you are serious, and are taken seriously by your peers in the translation world.

I would also suggest that you make yourself familiar with the excellent template "Wordfast" for your first CAT "program". It's not really a program per se, but enhances the strengths of Word for the translator.