Looking fore: automatic translation software
Thread poster: Tanja Kreutz

Tanja Kreutz  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:50
German to English
+ ...
Jan 15, 2003

I work as an employed translator for a company in the machine tool business.

Now I received a request from our service engineers working mainly abroad to look for translation software they can use on their notebooks to communicate e.g. with a Chinese customer.

I have already voiced my concern regarding the translation quality provided by these programs.

I fear that they hope that such programs could translate the tech slang service engineers use.

Nevertheless, I promised them to find out whether there are any useful programs on the market even if they cannot handle technical terms.

It might help them to check into their hotel, after all...

So, any suggestions would be appreciated.

Tanja

Direct link Reply with quote

JCEC  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 21:50
English to French
Forget it ! Jan 15, 2003

Dear Tanja,

I\'m a consultant in machine translation and have designed several systems, one of which has become world-famous and has been used by the Canadian government for over twenty-five years.

My advice is: Don\'t even think about it !

In the present state of the art, machine translation can lead to inadvertently insulting communications and mistranslations which can be very dangerous in a technical field. The problem is magnified when dealing with languages as far apart as German and Chinese.

Sorry for being such a party pooper,

John

Steffen Pollex  Identity Verified
English to German
+ ...
Right! Jan 15, 2003

I face this problem mainly in the GER-RUS or ENG-RUS pair, while there are programs that deal fairly well with ENG-GER.

And if it\'s technical stuff I couldn\'t agree more with John. Relying only on maqchine translation may lead to fatal errors and misinterpretations.The more, I think, in the East-Asian langages that have so many of the slightest nuances.