Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 01:12
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Jul 6, 2007

G'day everyone

I'm an editor at the Open Directory, but I'm not writing on behalf of the Open Directory. I would like to encourage translators to become editors of the Open Directory (ODP) and help expand it, especially for the benefit of fellow-translators.

I've written an article for ProZ.com on getting listed in the ODP, and that might be a good place to start on becoming an editor for the ODP. Basically, editors review submitted sites and decide whether they can be listed in the ODP or not. Editors can add sites themselves, or review sites that were submitted by the public.

http://www.proz.com/translation-articles/articles/642/1/Promoting-your-translation-web-site-through-the-Open-Directory--

There are currently quite a few unreviewed sites in the ODP's translation category, and I can't hope to review all of them anytime soon. This means that deserving translators do not get the benefit of ODP listing because of the backlog. There are currently 150 unreviewed sites in Public Speaking, 500 unreviewed sites in Translation, and 300 unreviewed sites in Writing and Editing.

Remember, sites listed at the ODP get a boost in their Google rankings. Also remember that it is "legal" to add your own site to the ODP, so if you have a web site and your language or country's category does not have an editor yet, you may apply and help boost your own site by listing it.

I look forward to your comments.

I know there may be other directories where volunteers help with reviews, where translators can submit their sites. I think translators should help each other by signing up as editors at such sites to help fellow-translators get listed.

Direct link Reply with quote

Yolande Haneder  Identity Verified
German to French
+ ...
I am with you Jul 6, 2007

I am in charge of some of the translation part and I have too much for me alone.