Best Professional Association membership status
Thread poster: Andrew Mac

Andrew Mac  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:14
French to English
+ ...
Apr 30, 2012

Hi All,

In order to be better established as a freelance translator, I was wondering if anyone had any advice in regards to what is the most highly regarded translation association membership status?

For example, within the UK (where I am based) there is the Qualified ITI status membership or with proz for example there is "Certified" status.

Is it a case of the more the better or would anyone advise of a particular membership status having more benefit than others in regards to growing your client base?

Thanks,

Andy

Direct link Reply with quote

Chris Hughes  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2007)
Romanian to English
+ ...
The Chartered Institute of Linguists May 1, 2012

Hi Andy,

Although it's not solely a translation association, I've always found that membership of the Chartered Institute of Linguists in the UK is highly respected by agencies, government clients and other direct clients alike. What's more, you can also choose to be listed on the Institute's 'Find-a-Linguist' database, which has certainly given me access to a large number of new clients.

I've had a quick look at your profile, and I'd say that you'd meet the membership criteria if you were to apply. It's quite a long application form (!), but it's well worth it in the end.

I hope that's of use, and all the best to you in your future freelancing career!

Chris.

Decipherit  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Second that May 1, 2012

Chris Hughes wrote:

Hi Andy,