Wordfast and PlusTools - Alignment problem
Thread poster: Sheila Hardie

Sheila Hardie  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:38
Catalan to English
+ ...
Jan 9, 2009

I wonder if someone can help me with another Wordfast problem! I have a Powerbook G4 Mac laptop with Microsoft Word 2004 for Mac, Wordfast 5.56g (latest Beta version) and I downloaded PlusTools 4.16 the other day.

Anyway, I have been asked to align several documents that were not translated in Wordfast. However, I am new to Wordfast (and all CAT tools for that matter) and am finding this very complicated. To be honest, I am not sure if it's simply due to my ignorance or because some of the features are not working on my Mac. So, please bear with me. I downloaded PlusTools 4.16 from Wordfast's website and tried to install it. However, the icon does not appear on the Wordfast toolbar. Following instructions in the PlusTools guide, I went to Tools and Templates in Word to activate the PlusTools.dot file. My Microsoft Word 2004 is in Spanish (computer bought in Spain) and my Wordfast 5.56g is in French (no idea why), so I hope I'm looking in the right places. I appeared to have activated the macro but the icon still does now show up on the Wordfast toolbar.

Now I have 'extracted' txt files from both source and target documents successfully (or so it would appear), but cannot see how to align them as I have no idea where PlusTools is in the Wordfast set-up.

I hope someone can understand my rambling explanation. I'm currently pulling my hair out because I can't figure out what to do.

Many thanks in advance!

Sheila

[Modifié le 2009-01-09 09:32 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

esperantisto  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:38
Member (2006)
English to Russian
+ ...
PlusTools is separate from Wordfast, Jan 9, 2009