Thread poster: Erin DeBell

Erin DeBell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:39
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nov 22, 2009

Hello:

Granted, I am a novice Wordfast user, BUT, I watched all the training videos and thought I'd be able to use the most basic functions to automatically translate some text.

I was using the standalone trail version, which I deleted when my TM got over 500 and I really wanted to use it for a new project. I downloaded the most recent version on the website, which turned out to be Wordfast classic (operating inside MS Word).

Word has been crashing on me all day but it recovers my translation and I continued working on it. This morning I was unable to install a windows update (not sure if that is relevant).

I had my work so I thought everything was fine. However, when I saved a copy and tried to run a quick clean, the Spanish ST will not go away! I sent it to my PM, and she can't even open the file!

The only solution I can think of is to PRINT OUT my entire doc, with ST, TT and placeables and to TYPE IN the English in an entirely new document. I am desperate. Any ideas to somehow get the Spanish to go away???

Also, after a few crashes the TM apparently stopped working (not pretranslating things I had already translated. No more TM?).

TIA!!!

Direct link Reply with quote

Claire Cox
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:39
French to English
+ ...
Quick fix Nov 22, 2009

Hi Erin,

Not sure why Word keeps crashing for you, but it might be worth going back to a more stable version of Wordfast and redownloading - I think all the various versions are available online. If that works, you should be able to retranslate using what's in your memory if the document isn't too huge.

Otherwise, for a quick fix for this particular document, this is what the Wordfast technical support group advised me to do when I had a similar problem with a very complex document, full of tables of contents and bookmarks, which just hung and refused to clean: