Sophie Dzhygir
Sophie Dzhygir  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 05:18
German to French
+ ...
Aug 20, 2010

Hi everybody,

I am totally new to Wordfast, although Trados proficient. I have the very latest version, downloaded a couple of days ago and licensed today.
I need to use an old trados TM in Wordfast and as far as I understood, the way to go is to export it as a TMX file and simply open it in WF. But this doesn't work. WF processes my request, processes and processes and never finally opens it.

Can you please help? Sorry if this is a stupid question or already answ
... See more
Hi everybody,

I am totally new to Wordfast, although Trados proficient. I have the very latest version, downloaded a couple of days ago and licensed today.
I need to use an old trados TM in Wordfast and as far as I understood, the way to go is to export it as a TMX file and simply open it in WF. But this doesn't work. WF processes my request, processes and processes and never finally opens it.

Can you please help? Sorry if this is a stupid question or already answered, but I could find it either in the search, either in the user guide.

And in fact, I have another question: when I finally open it, I'll need to merge this TM with a WF TM. I read from the user guide that I should use the "Merge" button, but there is no such button in my interface. What can I do?

Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Platary (X)
Platary (X)
German to French
+ ...
Some ideas Aug 20, 2010

Hi Sophie !

Sophie Dzhygir wrote:

as far as I understood, the way to go is to export it as a TMX file and simply open it in WF. But this doesn't work. WF processes my request, processes and processes and never finally opens it.

It should work like that (WF convert the TMX to TXT) ... unless the exported TMX is corrupted. Just check and fix it if necessary) with tools like TMX Validator

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Office-tools/Other-Office-Tools/TMXValidator.shtml

or Olifant