Problems with pdf format and font
Thread poster: mckay2

mckay2  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:33
Member (2010)
German to English
+ ...
Sep 23, 2010

I am new to Wordfast and have both Classic and Pro. When I work on pdf documents in Pro the final saved version does not quite match the original pdf file in terms of format and font. Often headings are hidden by black boxes or have black boxes behind them. The font is not necessarily the same as the original. So far our clients have accepted this as they can presumably re-format the document themselves. But it doesn't look very professional. Any suggestions?

Direct link Reply with quote

Magdalena Szewciów  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2008)
English to Polish
+ ...
well Sep 23, 2010

I would simply suggest to use some nice and effective OCR software first with the PDF file, then get on with the translation. I always do that both in case of WF Classic and Trados (both of which I use). There is no way (at least none that I know of) for WF Pro or (even?) Trados to nicely export a translated PDF file without prior conversion with an OCR programme.

HTH

Dragomir Kovacevic  Identity Verified
Italy
Italian to Serbian
+ ...
it is not supposed... Sep 23, 2010

that a CAT re-creates an identical pdf translated document. Just a few years ago, there was no tools capable of reproduction of a real pdf document.
In order to protect her-himself, a translator should always advert about the impossibility to follow a pdf exactly. Your clients obviously knows about this problem and does not press you, unless you insist on doing it!

You might ask for an exchange format, exportable from DTP software, like "mif", "inx". In that case, your translated file in WfP will look exactly as the original.

If your client wants an identical translated file, then you might extend your service and, besides translation, add the service of further desktop publishing, for an extra charge.

Dragomir

mckay2 wrote: