Thread poster: Philippe Martineau
Philippe Martineau
Hong Kong
Local time: 11:56
English to French
+ ...
Oct 21, 2010

Dear all,

I am very new to WF and your help would be very much appreciated.

I have started freelancing for a translating agency who has asked me to download version 5.0 of WF, which I have done successfully. Meaning a new toolbar is now showing inside MS Word. That is all I have done. I have not downloaded or installed WF as such or paid for a licence, as I did want to try first. The translation agency also said no need to, as I can start translating using Wordfast via MS Word.

Thing is I am stuck. I have started receiving documents to translate, which I have to render through WF into a .txml file and have not managed to figure out how.

The documents to translate are to be found inside a zipped file containing:

a TM file with the .txt extension
a source document with a .doc extension
a TXML file to translate into with a .doc.txml extension

I need your help in how to translate into the TXML file. I am confused by this. I can save the TM and WF retrieves the source file most of the time, although sometimes it does not and this confuses me even more. But then I do not know what to do. I have searched different forums but the answer to this question is not clearly answered. One posted a link to convert a .txml into a word document but with no avail.

Many thanks in advance

Phil

Direct link Reply with quote

Gabriela Daniela Ardeleanu  Identity Verified
Romania
Local time: 05:56
Member (2009)
English to French
+ ...
Wordfast Anywhere Oct 21, 2010

Try Wordfast Anywhere: www.freetm.com. This is an online translation environment where you an import/export your TM as well as .txml files.

Philippe Martineau
Hong Kong
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
UN GRAND MERCI Oct 21, 2010

Bonjour Gabriela,

Wow. I am speechless. You saved my life

Do not you think that the agency could have explained that...

Have a good day

With my very best regards