Caroline Tsaganas  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 04:44
Member (2011)
English to French
+ ...
Jan 28, 2011

Hello,

I have just received some .txml files for proofreading. The agency requests that I send them back unclean and without footnotes.

I have no idea what this means...

I am new to Wordfast and made it so far with plain Word documents.

I read many topics on the subject and got to the point where I downloaded PlusTools. But this is were I do not understand how to go on...

Has anyone been confronted with the same problem? Do you know if a post has already been written on that subject?

I am very good with computers and softwares, but this time, I am on the verge of giving up... and deadline is monday...

I am desesperate for help...

Thanks

Caroline

Marina Aleyeva  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 05:44
English to Russian
+ ...
WF Pro Jan 28, 2011

I think what you need is Wordfast Pro. Just install WF Pro, open your .txml there, proofread and save a copy. That's it. Check the manual to get some basics before you start though. It is not difficult (IMHO much easier than Trados) but a manual is always of help when you are a newbie.

P.S. txml is already an uncleaned file. WF Pro creates these files automatically when opening various other formats including doc and html.

P.P.S. To locate the footnotes, just use the WF preview mode: Window - Show View - Preview in MS Word (if the source document was a Word one) or Preview HTML in Webbrowser (if it was an htm/html). For a document that was originally a Word file, only Preview in MS Word will be active. If it was an htm/html, both preview options will be active, but Preview in MS Word will show a two-column table with the source and target rather than an actual layout.

Hope it helps.

[Edited at 2011-01-28 22:30 GMT]

Caroline Tsaganas  Identity Verified
France
Member (2011)
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
.txml files in Wordfast Classic for Proofreading Jan 29, 2011

Good morning Marina!