Is partial filling of segments possible like in Trados?
Thread poster: Stefan Stefanov

Stefan Stefanov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 15:03
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
Mar 19, 2011

Hello,

This is a question I hadn't considered before, although I've been using WF for several years now.

Can WF supply partial matches in the new segments, e.g.
Wash drawer using the 3-step method, and allow to air dry before replacing.

The bold parts are phrases I have already translated. Can WF insert the translation from the TM into the newly opened segment, like Trados does?

I really need this now, because I have taken a very large project with about 40% repetitions at the word level, but not at the segment level, and the client is not paying for the repetitions at WF analysis says they are 100% matches.

Of course, this would also save me time.

Direct link Reply with quote

Lori Cirefice  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 14:03
French to English
No Mar 19, 2011

Not to my knowledge (for WFC). You can set your fuzzy threshold really low, and that might give some results, but for sentences that long, I'm not sure how well it would work.

You would be better off using the glossary features and propogation options in PB, along with copy source... read about "propogate 1" in the instructions!

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
No Mar 19, 2011

Tell your customer that he has to pay for all segments with less than 100% matches. If they don't want to pay for single words they can buy a dictionary and try to translate the stuff themselves.

Bulgaria
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Will try Mar 19, 2011

Hello,

Thanks for your answers.

I forgot to mention I am using WF Pro. I have set up a glossary but that's not of much help. I have also lowered the fuzzy threshold to 60% and this does help, but not much, not as much as I'd like it to.