Using the align tool in Plus tools
Thread poster: Jessie Nelson

Jessie Nelson  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:58
French to English
Mar 24, 2011

Hi everyone,
I have just downloaded and added the Plus tool to Microsoft Word 2007.
The instructions say to open the two files, which I have done. I opened the files separately, as I dont know how to open them without closing Word and re-opening with the 2nd file. I am new at Wordfasrt.
I have found the Plus tools in the "Add-in" area. But nothing happens. What to I do next to align the files.
Regards,
Jessie

Direct link Reply with quote

Claire Cox
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:58
French to English
+ ...
Plus Tools toolbar Mar 24, 2011

Hi Jessie,

When you say you've got Plus Tools in Add-ins, I assume you mean under Add-ins and templates on the Word Tools menu? Under toolbars, you should then be able to check the box to make the Plus Tools toolbar visible at the top of the page and then I think if you click on the PlusTools symbol at the left- hand side, you should be able to click on Align at the top of the page that comes up, then follow the instructions by opening the two files and clicking start alignment. Once alignment has finished, you'll end up with a table with two columns of text, and you need to go through and make sure that each source cell corresponds to each target cell, cutting, pasting and moving cells up or down as appropriate. Sometimes the grammar is different or spurious full stops in the source cause segments to be created where none exist, so it is worth checking carefully. Once you've finished, you click on Create TM on the align screen and you should have a new TM, ready to go.

HTH,

Claire

esperantisto  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:58
Member (2006)
English to Russian
+ ...
Alt+F2 Mar 24, 2011

In Word 2007, PlutTools tends to be kinda hidden. Just press Alt+F2 to call up it.

United States
French to English
TOPIC STARTER
Using the align tool in Plus tools Mar 24, 2011