Thread poster: Mariebzh

Mariebzh  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:26
English to French
+ ...
Apr 5, 2011

Hello,

I'm a beginner with Wordfast Classic, and I need some help here.
I received a Excel file to translate using Wordfast.
I've opened a Word doc, and manage to translate the file on it, I've manage creating a glossary as well, but here is my questions :
How do I save my translation and send it back to my client ?
and how do I save the glossary and export it to send back to my client ?

Thank you so much for your help !

Michael J.H. Davies  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2009)
English to Danish
+ ...
Saving the translation and the glossary Apr 6, 2011

Hello Marienc,

Welcome to the world of Wordfast - an extremely easy to use and, in my view, excellent CAT. I have been a user of Wf for some time now and still have a lot to learn about it's more advanced features but as far as regular use is concerned, it suits my purposes very well.

A document translated using Wf classic is just a Word document like any other - nothing special there except, of course, that it can show both source language and target language texts adjacent to each other - clearly marked using different colour backgrounds for the two sets of texts.

While working on your translation, you can choose to save your document (Word: Save As - or equivalent in your own language version if not English) as an 'uncleaned' document - i.e. with both source and target language texts. For this purpose, you could add an indication of the 2 languages in the document to the existing document name. Then you can continue working on the document at a later time / next day /etc.