How to translate txml file in Wordfast Classic
Thread poster: mingbaby1111

mingbaby1111  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:54
English to Chinese
+ ...
Jul 13, 2011

I'm new to Wordfast Classic and I just learnt how to translate source word file. But I have no idea on how to translate txml files. When I open txml files using Microsoft Word, I found that there are so many tags and it's hard for me to find where the real source text is. I felt that I used the wrong way but I don't know what should be the right way. Or txml file can only be translated in Wordfast professional?

Direct link Reply with quote

Yasmin Moslem  Identity Verified
Egypt
Local time: 04:54
English to Arabic
TXML in Wordfast Classic Jul 13, 2011

mingbaby1111 wrote:

I'm new to Wordfast Classic and I just learnt how to translate source word file. But I have no idea on how to translate txml files. When I open txml files using Microsoft Word, I found that there are so many tags and it's hard for me to find where the real source text is. I felt that I used the wrong way but I don't know what should be the right way. Or txml file can only be translated in Wordfast professional?

You can use the latest version of Wordfast Classic to convert the TXML file to a doc, translate/proofread and then convert it back to the TXML format. Please download and install the latest version of Wordfast Classic available at:
http://www.wordfast.net/index.php?whichpage=downloadpage

Steps:

1- Open the TXML in MS Word.
2- Press Alt+Down to start translation
3- When you are asked to tag the file, answer affirmatively.
4- Translate!
5- Cleanup; this will create a TRANSLATED version of the TXML file in the same folder.

Make sure you do not change the file names and locations during the translation.

Still, this requires you to be able to handle "placeables" or more precisely inline tags adding them to the target, or you can just copy the source to the target (Alt+Ins) and then edit in between.

HTH,
Yasmin