Translating and proof-reading of partially translated excel-file?
Thread poster: Anders Dalström

Anders Dalström
Germany
Local time: 00:23
Member (2008)
English to Swedish
+ ...
Sep 25, 2011

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Wordfast Pro (v.2.4.2).

I now have an Excel-file containing one column with the source text (EN) and one column which has been partially translated (SV). The client wants me to proof-read the existing Swedish text and translate any segments which haven't yet been translated. Is there any way to do this in WFP?

Thanks,
Anders

Direct link Reply with quote

Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:23
Finnish to French
You can be both translator and proofreader Sep 26, 2011

Anders Dalstrom wrote:
I'm fairly new to Wordfast Pro (v.2.4.2).
I now have an Excel-file containing one column with the source text (EN) and one column which has been partially translated (SV). The client wants me to proof-read the existing Swedish text and translate any segments which haven't yet been translated. Is there any way to do this in WFP?

WFP hasn't got the concept of roles, eg. translator or proofreader. This means you can be both: proofreader for the already translated segments and translator for those not yet translated. The problem is all segments will look the same once you've proofread and translated everything, because WFO cannot indicate the difference via their status. If it is deemed important to distinguish proofread from translated segments afterwards, you could (as a workaround) mark segments proofread by you as unconfirmed (Alt+Enter). The main thing is that you reach an agreement on the basis of your fee for this job: how much you will be paid for the proofreading and how much for the translating.

Anders Dalström
Germany
Local time: 00:23
Member (2008)
English to Swedish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Hiding already translated segements Sep 26, 2011