Wordfast: super long source segments-help!
Thread poster: Cynthia Johnson

Cynthia Johnson  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 16:11
French to English
+ ...
Oct 4, 2011

I'm just starting out with Wordfast, and have gone for the Pro, and have watched a few videos, but can't find and answer to this problem. I'm computer literate but not a techie...

I'm translating long, academic texts in French, where each sentence is often a whole paragraph, 6-7 lines...and wordfast uses the sentence as its segment--so you can imagine I will never get a match out of a TM, because no 7 line sentence is the same. So how can I break down the source segments into sub-phrases?

A related problem is that in the target English text, I of course break that one source sentence into 3-4 target sentences, so how will the TM cope with that, if I there is one source sentence/segment for 3 target sentences in the TU?

I've been told, and it makes sense, that for texts such as these I'll probably use the concordance search more than the TM, but still, Im hoping to find a way to make it work--because it's not easy to translate this stuff once, I dont want to have to do it twice

so thanks for any help that you guys can provide!

Cynthia

Direct link Reply with quote

JL01  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:11
English to French
+ ...
Why would you want to do that? Oct 4, 2011

Why would you want to break up a sentence? If there are semi-colons (or the like), then you may (maybe) be able to do that. I routinely break up sentences at colons and semi-colons in Wf Classic, but I don't think that WFP can do that, anyway.

And, yes, in that specific case, the concordance will be more useful.

Still, I can't think of long academic text worthy of a TM tool. Usually, they don't contain that much repetition.

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 17:11
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
You can use forced segmentation Oct 5, 2011