Help with Wordfast Pro somewhere?
Thread poster: FreeHansje

FreeHansje  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:17
Dutch to English
+ ...
Oct 24, 2011

Bear with me, this is part rant and part a plea for HELP.

I have started translating earlier this years and thus I am fairly new in this world. I purchased Trados Studio 2009 and am working fine with it. There are, however, many more CAT tools and I have read a lot of complaining about Trados. Wordfast is mentioned quite often, so I decided to DL a trial of WF Pro and installed it.
Installation seemed fine and I started the program. I receive an error about a javaw.exe program it can't find. Checking the DIR it should be in it's there, should be no problem at all. I went to the Wordfast Support page and can't find anything there on this error. AFAIK I can only claim support with WF as an after-sales option. Since I am on a trial... No user community, nada.
I did find a subject Starting WF for the first time. Reading this it suggests I open MS Word and then load wordfast.dot. What I have downloaded is an .EXE not a .DOT. I have search all my hard disks, but no wordfast.dot to be found...

So now I have 2 questions. How can I get this working?!? Is there anywhere some decent support to be found on this tool on the trial?

Second question: why is Wordfast considered a good alternative for Trados? As mentioned, I have no problem with Trados, and sofar Wordfast is a pain... I have read/up on Wordfast and it seems to be lacking features Trados routinely handles.

Any help_info is appreciated.

neilmac  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
It's cheaper Oct 24, 2011

FreeHansje wrote:

Is there anywhere some decent support to be found on this tool on the trial?

Second question: why is Wordfast considered a good alternative for Trados? As mentioned, I have no problem with Trados, and sofar Wordfast is a pain...
Any help_info is appreciated.