Bárbara Hammerle López-Francos
Bárbara Hammerle López-Francos  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:12
German to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 1, 2011

Hi,
I have no experience with CAT tools, and now have to use worfast Pro. I have downloaded the user guide, but there are so many things that I am really confused. Is there a easy protocol with the most essential things you have to do in order to perform a successfull translation. Many thanks in advance!!!

Yasmin Moslem
Yasmin Moslem  Identity Verified
Egypt
Local time: 12:12
English to Arabic
Start Nov 1, 2011

Dear Bárbara,

Wordfast Pro can translate doc files as follows:

- Create/open a project ("File" menu) and a translation memory.

- "Open" the source file (DOC) you want to translate ("File" menu).

- Insert the translation in the target cell and move to the next segment using Alt+Down.

- Make sure you insert the tags/placeables by using Ctrl+Alt+Right to select a tag and Ctrl+Alt+Down to insert it.

- After finalizing the
... See more
Dear Bárbara,

Wordfast Pro can translate doc files as follows:

- Create/open a project ("File" menu) and a translation memory.

- "Open" the source file (DOC) you want to translate ("File" menu).

- Insert the translation in the target cell and move to the next segment using Alt+Down.

- Make sure you insert the tags/placeables by using Ctrl+Alt+Right to select a tag and Ctrl+Alt+Down to insert it.

- After finalizing the translation, press Alt+End; "Save".

- Select "Save Translated file" from "File" menu to have the target translated file in the same original format (DOC) to send back to your client.

You can watch this interactive small video for guidance:
http://www.wordfast.net/?kb=149-35

Kind regards,
Yasmin
Collapse

Spain
German to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
RE:Start (Wordfast) Nov 2, 2011

Dear Yasmin,

many, many thanks for your reply. Both, your instructions, as well as the video have been very, very helpfull. No at least I can start working....