Help merging TDBs in Wordfast Pro needed.
Thread poster: msgallo

msgallo
Local time: 02:31
German to English
+ ...
Nov 4, 2011

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to Wordfast Pro, and just figuring my way through the demo-mode set-up. I am trying to merge the content of my own two local TDBs into one. I have a read-only TDB which prevents sensitive terms being translated into censored documents, and a censored TDB which I am adding new terms to. The terms will also be useful in the read-only TDB however, and other than add each term twice, once for the censored version, and again to the read-only version, I'm not sure how to merge the two.

I am thinking that I will have to set the second TDB to read rather than read-only.

Is there a simple way to merge the content of one or more TDBs to another from within Wordfast Pro?

Thanks in advance

msgallo
Local time: 02:31
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Success Nov 4, 2011

Having delved into some other threads in this forum, I figured a way to combine the data in Wordfast Pro TDBs. having exported both TDBs as .txt files, I was able to open both files in Word, then copy the content of one of the .txt files into the content of the other, save this, and then re-import it into Wordfast Pro. I saw the number of terms had risen.

The thread also discussed using Oliphant as a means of combining data, so just trying to figure out how that works.

Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:31
Finnish to French
Olifant is for TM's, not terminology Nov 4, 2011

msgallo wrote:
The thread also discussed using Oliphant as a means of combining data, so just trying to figure out how that works.

Olifant (with an "f", not "ph"!) is for TM's only. You can find it at http://okapi.sourceforge.net/downloads.html
It's currently only available for Windows, but a new Java version is in the making and it will be cross-platform (= also Mac & Linux).

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator: