Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Can I reply to ad requiring SDL Trados if I have Wordfast ?
Thread poster: Pauline Eloi

Pauline Eloi  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:43
English to French
+ ...
Nov 15, 2011

Hi everyone,

I recently started working as a freelance translator. I am thinking about investing in a CAT tool, as many clients ask for it. As I am just starting as a freelancer, I cannot really afford a Trados licence right now and was rather thinking about buying a Wordfast Pro licence. However, I've noticed that many ads actually require Trados. I was thus wondering if, when clients state that you need to have Trados to work on their project, does it really mean that you HAVE TO have Trados (in which case, given the proportion of ads requiring Trados compared to WF, I may rather wait a bit and invest only in Trados), or if they also work with you when you only have WF.
Apart from that, if any of you knows of a good reason why I should rather invest in one, rather than the other, feel free to let me know! Thanks for your help and have a nice day.

Pauline

MartinPorto  Identity Verified
Portugal
French to English
+ ...
TRADOS Nov 15, 2011

Hi Pauline

Trados is the only CAT tool I have ever been asked to use, it is if I am not mistaken the market leader!

I have, and have looked at other CAT tools, but after much time spent with TRADOS, I will almost certainly never use anything else! It also depends on what it is you are translating, I tend to have a lot of technical, so yes, it is a big help!

One thing to bear in mind, is compatibility, as a newcomer to the profession, if you bought the latest TRADOS version, you might have problems with files sent from agencies that are still using older versions, much older versions in some cases, so it might be worth spending a little time to research what is, and what is not compatible with regards to opening editing files etc.