https://www.proz.com/forum/wordfast_support/221270-wordfast_classic_6_segmentation_translate_and_clean_up_functions_inquiry.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Wordfast Classic 6 segmentation & Translate and Clean-up functions inquiry
Thread poster: ahmadwadan.com
ahmadwadan.com
ahmadwadan.com  Identity Verified
Saudi Arabia
Local time: 03:26
English to Arabic
+ ...
Mar 25, 2012

Hello,

I am a new user of Wordfast Classic (WC). However, I have many years of experience using Trados (From 2007 till Studio 2011) so I may raise questions that could be asked by a newbie:

Question 1:

How to force WFC to adopt the following line as one segment without splitting it into 2 segments?

XXX Company K.S.C. (Closed) and its subsidiaries

WFC splits the above line into:

TU1: XXX Company K.S.C.
... See more
Hello,

I am a new user of Wordfast Classic (WC). However, I have many years of experience using Trados (From 2007 till Studio 2011) so I may raise questions that could be asked by a newbie:

Question 1:

How to force WFC to adopt the following line as one segment without splitting it into 2 segments?

WFC splits the above line into:

TU1: XXX Company K.S.C.
TU2: (Closed) and its subsidiaries

The above behavior does not happen with Trados Workbench which uses the above as one segment. Also, I understand that should not delete (.) from segmentation rule (End-of-segment punctuation).

I raised the above example since I have tens of repetitions of it along many financial statements (headers) that I translate and doing segmentation manually shall consume a lot of time so I am seeking an automated solution.

Question 2:

Upon carrying out Translate or Clean-up through WFC menu (Tools) I found that both functions took a lot of time compared to Trados Workbench.