Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Square brackets and file management in WF Pro 3?
Thread poster: Claudia Krysztofiak

Claudia Krysztofiak  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:55
English to German
+ ...
May 2, 2012

I am new to WF Pro and trying to get some work done and I am quite at a loss here.

My text (Word file opened in WF Pro editor) contains square brackets [] and I try to enter them with the keyboard (German Microsoft keyboard) but WF Pro does not react. I can copy the brackets from the source to the target but I cannot enter them via the keyboard.

What am I doing wrong?

And the other thing: How can I tell WF Pro where to save my TMs, terminology and project files? I wish to save them to the directory that contains all work files which I backup every day but WF saves them elsewhere.

Thank you for any help!

Direct link Reply with quote

Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:55
Finnish to French
no square brackets here either May 2, 2012

Claudia Krysztofiak wrote:
My text (Word file opened in WF Pro editor) contains square brackets [] and I try to enter them with the keyboard (German Microsoft keyboard) but WF Pro does not react. I can copy the brackets from the source to the target but I cannot enter them via the keyboard.

Indeed, I can't enter the [ and ] characters either. This is with a Finnish/Swedish keyboard (no fancy special keyboard, just a standard laptop keyboard). On my keyboard, I should be able to obtain [ with AltGr+8 and ] with AltGr+9. No idea why these keys are not functional in WFP3.

What am I doing wrong?

Probably nothing, looks like a bug to me.

And the other thing: How can I tell WF Pro where to save my TMs, terminology and project files? I wish to save them to the directory that contains all work files which I backup every day but WF saves them elsewhere.