Will WF Pro for Mac be ever developed further?
Thread poster: Pete Zubkov (X)

Pete Zubkov (X)
Jul 11, 2012

Hello

Writing here in hope to hear something on the subject from Wordfast developers.

I have been using WF for Mac, first Classic then Pro, for five years by now (my second license expires in a year, so it should be roughly five years). Since I switched to WF Pro, few Mac-specific problems have been resolved.

To name a few: you cannot navigate to line start and line end using native Mac OS shortcuts (Ctrl + left/right arrow). It can drive you mad when you switch between WF and, say, Pages. I tried to configure shortcuts in WF preferences, but had to give up not to upset the whole thing. Why don't you preconfigure the Mac version according to a Mac user's habits?

You cannot click a suggestion retrieved from the TM and displayed in the bottom of WF window so that it is inserted in the target segment. Worse than that, it does not always copy from there.

Resource management has problems too. Sometimes on large projects WF Pro (in the text display mode) slows down massively. Text you type is displayed with a huge lag. Have to switch to the table mode (which is very inconvenient because for some reason not all shortcuts work there), work there for a while, then switch back till the next slowdown...

Sorry, that is not how professional software (and that has to be relicensed every 3 years) should work.

What about the user interface? WF Pro 3.0 was announced not long ago but the only really new thing I noticed was (at last) a proper Dock icon. All other problems are still there. Including the archaic graphic interface resembling Word 2003. Sorry again, that is not what should be offered for professional use, ie for those who spend many hours a day in the software. Compare WF Pro interface with that of any professional graphics software (which is licensed for life, by the way...)